] > Department of Economics - Indiana University Bloomington
Indiana University Bloomington
Department of Economics

The Department of Economics at Indiana University Bloomington is one of the highly ranked departments in the United States, offering comprehensive coverage of the major fields in modern economics. It currently has 28 faculty members, approximately 80 graduate students, and approximately 800 undergraduate majors. The department has existed since 1935, and is located in Wylie Hall, the beautifully restored oldest building on campus.

Slide 1 Slide 2


Carrington Scholars Fund in Economics Established by IU Economics alumni Hearst "Carey" Carrington ('77) and Christopher Carrington ('83) to provide annual competitive scholarships to undergraduate Economics majors and PhD students.

James Bullard

James Bullard, Ph.D '90, President and CEO of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis awarded the College Distinguished Alumni Award

Michael Alexeev

Professor Michael Alexeev has been elected the President-Elect of the Association for Comparative Economic Studies

2014 Job Market Candidates

Participate in Economics Experiments - Join Here

Faculty Spotlight

Volodymyr Lugovskyy

Volodymyr Lugovskyy

Born in Ukraine, Volodymyr Lugovskyy has previously held faculty positions at University of Memphis and Georgia Institute of Technology. Dr. Lugovskyy's main research interests are in international trade, particularly in the variety gains from trade, trade costs, and patterns of specialization. He also has projects in experimental economics. He has taught courses in microeconomics, statistics, game theory, and international trade. He has published papers in the Journal of International Economics, European Economic Review, Journal of Development Economics, and Journal of Money Credit and Banking.